New Youth Ministry Position!

Greetings, Southern California Deanery!

Christ is in our midst!

On September 5, 2011, His Grace, Bishop JOSEPH, appointed me, Christian Gonzalez, to the position of Southern California Deanery Youth Director for the Antiochian Diocese of Los Angeles and the West.

Now, you are likely wondering, “What exactly does that mean?” You’d be right to wonder this.

This means that I will be working in close conjunction with the parishes of Southern California, as well as a couple parishes in Arizona, in order to strengthen youth ministry. By working alongside parish priests, youth directors, parents and teens, it is my hope that our deanery will experience a resurgence of love for Christ and his Church among young people and their parents.

This is an exciting time in our diocese and deanery, as this position’s institution indicates a clear movement toward strengthening youth ministry. After all, it is important that we, as the Church, take Christ’s charge seriously: “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them; for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven” (Matt. 19:14, RSV).

As this new position takes off, I will be visiting the parishes throughout the deanery in a rotational manner. Please note that two calendars are included in the website; this is so anyone can know what I am up to and where I will be at any given moment. That way, if anyone wishes to meet with me while I’m in the area, one can see what my availability is.

I will be working under the supervision of His Grace and three priests. My desire is to work in complete adherence with the vision of the Archdiocese and our Diocese of Los Angeles and the West.

I am deeply honored to be a part of this work, and I look forward to working alongside clergy, youth workers, parents, and teens as we move to form a more cohesive and strengthened vision for youth ministry!

Thanks for your support!

In Christ,
Christian

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Asides? Quips? Salutations?

